Monza – The Italian Grand Prix

8th September 1979

The eighth and final race in the Procar series took place in Monza and was staged over 18 laps at 5.8 km each. The winner mastered the race distance of 104.4 km at an average speed of 181.711 km/h.

Hans-Joachim Stuck is the king of BMW M1. In Monza, both during practice as well as during the race, he downgraded his competitors to extras and was classed as the best private driver in the final ranking. Niki Lauda was the overall champion, as Regazzoni and all of the other drivers in team cars fell by the wayside.

Lauda, Regazzoni and Stuck were all  candidates to win the Procar series before the last race of the season. Hans Stuck, who got on increasingly better with the Cassani M1, was once again the fastest private driver during practice. This time F1 addicts Jones, Regazzoni, Lauda, Piquet and Andretti were ahead of him. 19 M1 racing cars competed. With a brilliant start, Stuck catapulted himself from a 3rd starting grid, passing several M1 team cars and in lap 3 overtaking the Regazzoni – who until then had been in the lead. Up until the finish line, “Strietzel”  was able to pull away, giving himself a 20 second lead. Unlucky for him, Niki Lauda came in 2nd place. Niki gained 15 points, proving sufficient for him to win the 1979 Procar series! Regazzoni, at that time in 2nd place had to withdraw in the 6th lap due to engine trouble – as did Alan Jones later in the race, due to the same problem. Piquet and Winkelhock also went home empty handed.

Niki Lauda and/or his F1 team manager, Bernie Ecclestone received a brand new BMW M1, as did Hans Stuck as best private driver and/or his manager Manfred Cassani. Regazzoni and/or Frank Williams, as well as Markus Höttinger received a BMW 528i each for 2nd place; Piquet – thus Ecclestone again – and Toine Hezemans received a BMW 323i for 3rd place.

In an interview, Jochen Neerpasch said: “The Procar series more than fulfilled our expectations!

The race result

Monza – The Italian Grand Prix

BMW works cars in BMW M design
Blue text = F1 driver – Red time = F1 driver

Pos. # Name Nat. Team Laps Time T-Time
1 77 Hans-Joachim Stuck D Cassani Racing 18 34:28,33 1:52,68
2 5 Niki Lauda A Project four Racing 18 34:48,38 1:36,219
3 44 Markus Höttinger A Dr.Helmut Marko 18 34:54,52 1:55,86
4 66 Helmut Kelleners D Eggenberger 18 35:08,49 1:54,05
5 99 Toine Hezemans NL BMW Nederland 18 35:11,43 1:55,31
6 41 Wolfgang Schütz D Schütz Racing 18 35:13,44 1:56,74
7 50 Dieter Quester A Tom Walkinshaw 18 35:13,78 1:55,48
8 61 Walter Brun CH Schnitzer / Brun 18 36:04,40 1:58,25
9 45 Sepp Manhalter A Schnitzer 18 36:20,15 1:57,71
81 Manfred Winkelhock D Winkelhock Racing dit not finish 1:53,90
6 Nelson Piquet BR BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:36,389
28 Clay Regazzoni CH BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:35,339
27 Alan Jones AUS BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:34,982
70 Bruno Giacomelli I BMW Italia dit not finish 1:55,11
1 Mario Andretti USA BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:36,708
90 Teo Fabi I BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:55,09
71 Marc Surer CH BMW Schweiz dit not finish 1:54,15
80 Jean Louis Lafosse F BMW France dit not finish 1:56,30
60 Elio de Angelis I Osella dit not finish 2:04,50

The races of the 1979 season