Zandvoort – The Dutch Grand Prix

Zandvoort – The Dutch Grand Prix

25th August 1979

The seventh race in the Procar series took place in Zandvoort and was staged over 20 laps at 4.226 km each. The winner mastered the race distance of 84.52 km at an average speed of 160.125 km/h.

The penultimate race of the Procar series in Zandvoort was characterised by mad hectic and ruthless battles. Due to a rain shower, the race had to be interrupted after 5 laps (order: Regazzoni, Jones, Stuck, Lauda, Winkelhock, Laffite). After a mistake by Alan Jones, Hans-Joachim Stuck won in the second half of 15 laps and also was ahead in the addition.

Like in the old days, Hans Stuck took pole position with a lead of more than 1 second over Markus Höttinger and Manfred Winkelhock. Only the F1 addicts, Regazzoni , Jones, Laffite, Lauda and Piquet were ahead of the tall Bavarian, due to their practice time from Friday.

17 M1s competed until the 20th lap. Already during the 5th lap a downpour caused the race to be interrupted. The final 15 laps were resumed after a 45-minute break. However, a number of drivers were absent by then. Höttinger eliminated Nelson Piquet in lap 3. Höttinger after the race: “Completely my fault”. Elio de Angelis took out Dutchman, Michael Bleekemolen, who like Bürger was provided with a team car for the final two races. Niki Lauda seriously damaged his M1 during the warm up – that took place for the second time in Austria – in a chicane. In a feat, the mechanics were able to repair the car and Lauda was able to compete, however, electrical problems prevented him from continuing in the second part of the race, following the break during the rain. Soon afterwards, Jones – who was leading – and his Williams team colleague Reutemann were “sniffed” by Stuck, Winkelhock and Laffite. Following Laffite’s turn, Stuck and Winkelhock delivered a sensational duel. 5 laps later, Jacques Laffite had fought his way forward again and overtook Winkelhock. The Swabian driver lost further ground, meaning Marc Surer was able to catch up. With a difference of centimetres between them, the two ex-BMW juniors presented impressive motorsports. “Procar” boss Jochen Neerpasch beamed: “That was an amazing race, like out of a textbook.”

The race result

Zandvoort – The Dutch Grand Prix

BMW works cars in BMW M design
Blue text = F1 driver – Red time = F1 driver

Pos. # Name Nat. Team Laps Time T-Time
1 77 Hans-Joachim Stuck D Cassani Racing 20 31:40,214 1:31,384
2 26 Jacques Laffite F BMW Motorsport 20 31:46,714 1:17,129
3 81 Manfred Winkelhock D WinkelhockRacing 20 31:49,160 1:32,420
4 71 Marc Surer CH BMW Schweiz 20 31:57,251 1:32,635
5 28 Clay Regazzoni CH BMW Motorsport 20 31:58,742 1:16,136
6 99 Toine Hezemans NL BMW Nederland 20 32:09,699 1:33,133
7 50 Dieter Quester A Tom Walkinshaw 20 32:19,038 1:34,220
8 27 Alan Jones AUS BMW Motorsport 20 32:28,675 1:16,883
9 66 Helmut Kelleners D Eggenberger 20 32:41,808 1:35,528
10 80 Jean-Louis Lafosse F BMW France 20 33:02,132 1:34,905
11 45 Sepp Manhalter A Schnitzer 16.
5 Niki Lauda A Project four Racing dit not finish 1:17,665
6 Nelson Piquet BR BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:17,821
44 Markus Höttinger A Dr.Helmut Marko dit not finish 1:32,372
70 Elio de Angelis I BMW Italia dit not finish 1:33,819
90 Michael Bleekemolen NL BMW Motorsport dit not finish 1:33,977
41 Wolfgang Schütz D Schütz Racing dit not finish 17.

The races of the 1979 season